** This is for paid clients. You will not have this option if you are a free user.
What is Archiving?
Archiving is the process of moving data into a separate, hidden, area. It is an efficient way of keeping data up-to-date and organized without the permanence of deleting content. In this case, archiving a student, a teacher's section, or a classlist implies that it will no longer be visible to teachers, students, and guardian(s). Only admins have the ability to archive, restore and delete data.
Why is archiving useful?
Archiving is great to store data that you no longer need to see on a daily basis, but want to keep in your data for a period of time. This could be useful for class list changes, students that may be moving half way through the school year or semester, or teachers taking leave.
What does it mean to ‘restore’ something?
As an admin, you have the ability to restore anything that has been previously archived. Restoring something will take the content out of the archive, and will once again be visible to teachers, students, and guardians.
Is archiving the same as deleting?
No, archiving and deleting are not the same. You can restore anything you have archived. Anything deleted, however, is permanently removed and cannot be restored. Only use the delete option when absolutely necessary.